Recognised assessor qualifications

The assessment plans for the following apprenticeships require that the independent end assessor must hold a recognised workplace assessment qualification:

Hospitality standards

Retail standards

Travel standards

  • Hospitality team member
  • Hospitality supervisor
  • Senior chef production cooking
  • Commis chef
  • Chef de partie
  • Retailer
  • Retail team leader
  • Retail manager
  • Travel consultant

Appropriate workplace assessment qualifications recognised by People 1st are:

  • Level 3 award in assessing competence in the work environment
  • Level 3 certificate in assessing vocational achievement

Assessors who hold the following predecessor qualifications will need to demonstrate CPD evidence to the current standards.

  • A1: Assess candidate performance through a range of methods
  • D32: Assess candidate performance
  • D33: Assess candidate using different sources of evidence

As and when other appropriate qualifications are identified, this list will be updated.

Further guidance is available on the delivery of apprenticeship standards at


Frequently asked questions

Got a query about end-point assessment? Visit our frequently asked questions on apprenticeships.